The Ballad of Mr. Tate


Where have you been
All my life
Handsome young man
Tell me

Tell me
What your green eyes
Can teach this land
Eyes that see the good in man

Words that lift the spirit
Of all the people who
Need to hear it
Tell me…

Not broken by divorce
Or by teachers made of shit
You just smile from your heart
Tell me…how you do it?

Dancing free in a crowd
To your favorite song
Your laughter loud
Your patience strong

If I had one wish
I’d have half the swag you do
Tell me Mr. Tate
How could anyone not love you

4 thoughts on “The Ballad of Mr. Tate

Leave a Reply

